Book by phone: 800-942-6300

Bluff House

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 6, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Dogs allowed.

Mendocino, CA 95460 United States

Bluff House has two bedrooms, & two baths in the main house plus an optional and wonderfully cozy cottage. The home is suitable for up to four people in the main house (plus two more if you add the cottage). It's the drama and magic of the ocean in this lovely setting on the northern edge of Mendocino, up close and personal with the ocean.
Inside, take advantage of the well-equipped kitchen and breakfast nook. Curl up by the gas fireplace and take in the sunset or a good movie on the large flat screen TV. Then rest easy in the lush and comfortable bedrooms. Because of the cliff front location there is a minimum age of 10 years and over required for any guests.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 2 story
Unit Code BH
Beds 2 king beds, 1 queen bed
Bathrooms 2 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 6, Bluff House, with two king beds accommodates four and Bluff Cottage with a queen bed accommodates two.
Pets Dogs allowed.
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker, Microwave, Toaster, Cookware, Dishwasher, Gas Stove Top, Coffee, Teas and Cream, Brandy and Chocolates, Dishes, Cutlery, Glassware, Electric Oven, Blender
Living Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet, Free Long Distant Phone Service, Flat Screen TV, Gas Fireplace, Fresh Flowers, Hair Dryer, Phones with Answering Machine
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Internet Cafe, Nearby Bank
Convenience Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery
Culture Near Art Galleries
Outdoor Deck, Patio, Hot Tub
Geographic Near Beach, Close to Town, Close to State Parks, On the Bluff , Mendocino Headlands View
Entertainment Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Stereo System, Flat Screen TV
Average Manager Rating (Based on 822 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 54 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Lovely

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bill U from Soquel, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We found the house a wonderful place, incredible view, and would love to return.

  •  
  • Mother/daughter getaway

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Laura K from Camarillo, Ca recommends this vacation rental

    My friend and our two daughters stayed at the Bluff House for 4 days and absolutely loved it! It has a great location and spectacular views. The house was very cozy and clean. I would definately stay here again and recommend it to others.

  •  
  • The Bluff House in Mendocino

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Palo Alto, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Fabulous! The view at the Bluff House is breathtaking. We relaxed, chatted, laughed, ate, read, watched a movie, HOT TUBBED LOTS and played board and card games. Really enjoyed our Family Time! Our pooch was happy to be with us TOO!

  •  
  • Amazing "Edge of Mendocino" Home!

    Stayed 8 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Maria J from San Jose, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This was our third time staying at this wonderful and perfectly located home in Mendocino. We come up from the Bay Area every year and love this town. The home has amazing views, and is a 10 min walk to Mendocino Village with shops and restaurants. Kitchen is supplied with everything one would need. The only "issue" I can voice is the sheets on the bed were a bit scratchy/pillee. Other than that, it's a winner and we'll be staying here from now on. Oh yeah, it's also Pet Friendly!!

    • Manager Responded on 8/8/2017

      Thank you for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed the Bluff House. We just wanted to let you know that we brought up the sheets pilling with our housekeeping staff and will make sure you have nothing but the best bedding we have to offer in the future. We look forward to your staying with us again. Thank you again for the review and for being a valued guest.

  •  
  • Paradise with a view

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Ron V from Golden, CO recommends this vacation rental

    Beautiful, well maintained home in a perfect setting

  •  
  • Bluff House review

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kathleen C from fresno, CA recommends this vacation rental

    The location of the home was fabulous and we were able to relax and enjoy the view. We had a very good experience with Mendocino Preferred Vacation Rentals.

  •  
  • Bluff House - Paradise!

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Nancy P from Hamilton, OH recommends this vacation rental

    My husband and I spent a few days at the Bluff House with our son and his wife who live in Sacramento. We're from Ohio, and hadn't seen them for a year and a half. It was just the perfect setting for re-connecting and relaxation. They stayed in the darling cottage and we stayed in the house. The views just can't be described - nothing short of unbelievable, and the house was so perfect - a little bit of elegance, but more just comfortable, beautifully decorated and homey. Our time there will never be forgotten. You get what you pay for - and this beautiful property is worth every penny!

  •  
  • Bluff House Week

    Stayed 5 days ending in May, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Chico, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This was a wonderful experience! I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a quiet semi secluded ocean front/ view property

  •  
  • bluff house

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Monica W from Columbia, SC recommends this vacation rental

    The view was stunning, the place was great, although there was no water when we got there and we had to call and have someone come out to fix it.

  •  
  • Very peaceful

    Stayed 3 days ending in April, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Angela S from Minden, NV recommends this vacation rental

    Incredible location!

  •  
  • Felt like a 2nd Honeymoon!

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Robin M from South lake tahoe, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Views!! Beautiful and close to town location! Beautifully appointed house & back cottage. The hot tub is perfectly positioned to watch the waves- we even saw whale spoutings! It was easy to add the cottage onto our reservation last minute too-great customer care. Would stay again in a heartbeat and recommend to friends/family. One drawback was the hefty house rule book with our duties listed as separating the trash and recycleables as well as taking the trash out to the dumpster ourselves.

  •  
  • Bluff House

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Nancy J from Dublin, OH recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful stay in Mendocino and loved the Bluff House. The views were spectacular. Only complaint is the fact that both bathrooms are downstairs and one of the bedrooms is upstairs. That necessitated us renting the cottage because doing the stairs in the middle of the night to use the restroom just wasn't an option for us. The cottage was adorable but had a pretty bad smell to it when we got there. Preferred Rentals did their best to make it right and I'm sure by now they've been able to permanently resolve the problem. Preferred Rental was a pleasure to deal with.

  •  
  • 3 day stay at the Bluff House

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Dennis D from Shingle Springs, CA recommends this vacation rental

    My wife and I truly enjoyed our 3 day weekend stay at the Bluff House. We found the view amazing and the very clean and comfortable. We would venture out for a few hours to Mendocino or Fort Bragg and finding ourselves just wanting to come back and relax at the house. The view and comfort of the house was better than we could find out and about.

  •  
  • Breathtaking View!

    Stayed 3 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Christa G from Redding, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We had another relaxing long weekend at the Bluff House. View is spectacular and accommodations very comfortable. We did notice on this stay that there were dead bugs and cobwebs throughout the house which we felt should have been cleaned prior to our arrival. More cleaning detail would've been appreciated especially for this type of property.

  •  
  • Gorgeous Retreat

    Stayed 3 days ending in December, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mary H from San Francisco, CA recommends this vacation rental

    My husband and I have stayed in many rentals (domestic and international) and this is one of the best we have ever stayed in. The views and privacy are unparalleled yet it's minutes to town. Mendocino Preferred could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Because our booking was so last minute I called and asked which properties were available that week and together we decided Bluff House would be the best fit for us (with our dog and baby). They needed to book in their system the following day but all communications over phone and email made me feel confident that we would be well taken care of.

    Instructions and arrival were easy. We arrived right before sunset and upon arrival the views took our breath away. They are actually wider than 180 degrees because the property is on its own cliff and whether you are out in the yard or in the house you feel like you are truly away from it all.

    The house had a great setup for us, master downstairs, 2nd bedroom upstairs and apparently a third bedroom in the separate cottage. Kitchen was a very good size and laundry room and 2nd bathroom were a nice bonus. More than enough room for our little family but we are already thinking about coming back someday with another couple.

    Unfortunately our pup injured her paw so the Rx for the week was to take it easy vs. exploring the beaches and hikes. But honestly there is not a better property to hang in and enjoy the rental itself. The fireplace was cozy and we spent the majority of our time in the living room, listened to music, took in the views and sounds of the waves. When we wanted some fresh air we went outside and enjoyed the various parts of the fully enclosed property. The night sky was dense with stars as we enjoyed the hottub.

    Pics don't do the property justice - we look forward to the next stay.

  •  
  • A fantastic weekend getaway

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Melanie N from San Francisco, CA recommends this vacation rental

    The Bluff House exceeded expectations! The pictures do not even do justice to the views you have from the picture windows in the main house. The space is perfect, with all amenities you need. It's also very convenient to town (a short 10-15 minute walk) and to the Highway 1. Would definitely recommend and I can't wait to go back!

  •  
  • Beautiful, beautiful spot

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We enjoyed our stay so much. From the spectacular views and sunsets to the comfort of the home, we highly recommend a visit to Bluff House.

  •  
  • Bluff House superb

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Janet W from Carmichael, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Bluff House is my favorite among several houses I have vacationed at in Mendocino. It is cozy, has all amenities, and best of all is right on the cliff above the ocean with great views in three directions plus the sound of the waves! I wholeheartedly recommend it for an individual or couple! Think twice, though, for two couples because the second bedroom is upstairs without a bathroom. (The second bath is small, downstairs off the laundry room.) It is livable but not the greatest experience.

  •  
  • Anniversary weekend in Mendocino

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Santa Cruz, Ca recommends this vacation rental

    We arrived later than we thought, the key was left in the offices lock box...perfect. Wonderful views from the living room, super close to town, yet away from it all. The people in Mendocino were friendly and if you bring your dog, almost every store in Mendocino and Fort Bragg is dog friendly.
    The only problem we had was the hot tub was malfunctioning and way too hot. We contacted the management and it seems a part was ordered and on the way, just didn't get fixed while we were there. Not a huge deal with us, but it would have been nice to be able to use it.
    We had a wonderful anniversary meal at Trillium restaurant, would recommend it for going to for a special dinner.
    We will definitely be back!!!

  •  
  • August 2016 Escape to Mendo (part 1)

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Las Veges, NV recommends this vacation rental

    This was our annual August getaway and fourth stay at the Bluff House. I'll start with the bad: The controls for the outdoor spa aren't working properly. You can't adjust the temperature - it's very HOT. Left the cover off in an attempt to cool it down but I think that just made the heater work harder. The house wasn't as clean as on our past visits. The kitchen needed a thorough cleaning (the stove top & cabinets were grimy), the bathroom showers are collecting mold at the bottom edges and the baseboards need cleaning. Every interior and exterior door was dirty around the knob area & adjacent jamb area. Pretty gross - I spent a good hour or two washing door knobs. My allergies acted up and I'm assuming the prior renters had a dog as there was white pet hair on the rug in the living room and in the dust pan when I swept the kitchen floor on day two of our stay. It was that or the sofa and loveseat are in need of cleaning.

    Now the good: Sheets & towels were clean. They use a linen service now so you get fresh towels & linens (as opposed to "house" washed with over-perfumed laundry soap). The kitchen is well stocked with dishes and silverware and cooking items. The appliances are in good working order. The living room is VERY comfortable with ample seating and lighting. TV works great. The view is amazing. You are on a bluff overlooking the ocean. You don't see or hear any neighbors because this house is situated on it's own little "peninsula". It's a short walk to town. (There's no walking path so I wouldn't recommend it after dark.) The property management team is phenomenal. The provide a generous welcome package that includes fresh flowers, brandy with snifters, and a lovely bottle of white wine in the fridge.

  •  
  • Sublime 60th Birthday Celebration

    Stayed 2 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Walnut Creek, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Finding the perfect spot to celebrate a milestone year in Mendocino was not an easy task, but the Bluff House exceeded expectations. The ocean views, spacious, clean kitchen, comfortable beds made our stay memorable. The location of the house is ideal - quiet, private with exceptional ocean and sunset views. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. If you want a restful and relaxing get-away - the Bluff House is where it's at.

  •  
  • Can't ask for a better view!

    Stayed 8 days ending in July, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Maria J from San Jose, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This home is just minutes (walking) from downtown Mendocino. The home is cozy and the view is breathtaking! Great kitchen and all the amenities you could ask for. This is our second time staying here. This will most likely be our go to place for our annual visit to Mendocino.

    With the above said, my only negative comments are this-
    -Someone needs to go in and do a thorough cleaning of EVERYTHING. Walls, doors, shelves, etc. They are very dirty
    -Picture windows do need a cleaning. They were very dirty which sometimes distracts from the view.
    -It doesn't seem like the place has had a handyman come by in years. Faucet handle on the sink was very loose. Bathroom towel racks were coming away from the wall. Lastly,
    -The hot tub was absolutely gross. Looked very cloudy and dirty. I'm a hot tub owner and know that's not how hot tub water should look.

    I reported the hot tub and loose faucet to the management office. They sent someone out to fix the faucet but he didn't have the proper tool to tighten. Not sure what happen with the hot tub since we never got in.

    • Manager Responded on 7/21/2016

      Thank you very much for the review. First let us extend our apologies that everything wasn’t perfect for your stay. We are very happy that you were pleased with the home overall and have taken immediate steps to resolve the problems you mentioned. The kitchen faucet and towel rack have been repaired and the home thoroughly cleaned. We also had our hot tub serviceman come out to re-clean the hot tub during your stay, so we hope it wasn’t because of its initial appearance that you didn’t use it. We try vigilantly to maintain our homes, but they do require a lot of attention due to the nature of vacation rentals and we’d like to thank you again for bringing to our attention areas where we can make the home better. We look forward to your staying with us again and would like to assure you that your next visit will be clean, comfortable and worry-free. Thanks again from all of us at Mendocino Preferred.

  •  
  • It's Great to Wake Up to a Beautiful View

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Carmichael, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We have stayed in homes in Mendocino for many years. None had a better view than Bluff House which is right on the bluff. Even though close to HWY 1 there was no road noise. The sound of the ocean works like white noise & that is all you hear. Size of main house is great for 2 people. If there were 4 people, we would rent the cottage bedroom in addition. The upstairs bedroom in the main house is small & there is no bathroom on the second floor. The property was well maintained & the only thing less than perfect was the condition of the spa which needed attention. We will happily rent Bluff House again.

  •  
  • A perfect weekend getaway!

    Stayed 2 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kim S from Elk Grove, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a lovely time at Bluff House. The views were unbelievable - the photos don't do it justice. The house itself was very nice, clean, comfortable beds, furniture and extremely homey. the Jacuzzi under the stars was a treat. We loved sitting out on the deck or gazebo and enjoying some wine. We would do it again in a heartbeat! One update could be a new coffee maker, but other than that - perfection!

  •  
  • Perfect 4 days!!!!!!

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kim D from Ukiah, CA recommends this vacation rental

    I sent a review prior to this request, must have gone astray. Lovely wonderful perfect 4 days . will come back.

  •  
  • Bluff House stay

    Stayed 5 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Shanu K from Roseville, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a lovely stay at Bluff house . The information and reviews were accurate and the experience exceeded our expectations. This house has a gorgeous view and location .we would certainly come back.

  •  
  • A great spot

    Stayed 4 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Ronald G from North Haven, CT recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful time during our stay at this beautiful location.

  •  
  • Sunset charming

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Erik L from Sacramento, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Great location. Sit on the deck or in the living room and watch the sunset into the ocean. We would go back. One word of advice, the cottage is not included unless you ask and pay extra for it. The upstairs bedroom can be warm on a sunny day.

  •  
  • Incredible Views, Lovely Home

    Stayed 2 days ending in April, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Napa, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We've stayed in many lovely ocean settings, but views of the Mendocino Headlands, Agate Cove and the ocean from Bluff House are truly amazing! The cozy living room takes full advantage of the location, with a wall of windows providing a 180 degree ocean panorama. The site is very private yet close to town. We ended up staying in for dinner, except for a birthday celebration at Wild Fish, and loved the nicely appointed kitchen. The king size bed in the master suite was extremely comfortable. The gas fireplace and nice central heating provided plenty of warmth for the breezy, chilly weather. We will definitely be back!

  •  
  • Unbelievable Week of Rest, Relaxation and Fun!

    Stayed 7 days ending in March, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Fontana, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Our 4oth wedding anniversary was coming up and I was looking for something extra special for my wife and myself. The "Bluff House" was the perfect choice!
    It is one thing to see the pictures on the web, but quite a different experience to walk into the house and see the expansive view of the ocean and crashing waves right outside the windows!
    No matter where you were in the house, there was a beautiful view of the ocean (and greenery); getting up in the morning and looking out the bedroom double-doors; or in the kitchen/dining room and of course the living room; all incredible views. It was almost like being on a cruise ship with a huge stateroom to enjoy; the best of both worlds!
    The 1/2 acre around the house is beautiful and totally private; no one or houses any where near you; a wonderful retreat from our normally busy lives. It was an easy walk to the downtown areas of Mendocino, which included easy access to the grocery store, bakery and shops.
    Hiking was especially fun for us; unlimited trails through beautiful country, waterfalls and lighthouses gave us plenty of time together out in the sun and mist. :)
    The property is clean, fully furnished (including the kitchen), well maintained and the manager was quick to respond to any requests.
    I would highly recommend this property to any one who loves beautiful views, relaxation and has a heart for exploration of the area. In some ways, we felt the over-all experience was as good as or better than being in Hawaii. :)

  •  
  • New Year's at the Bluff House

    Stayed 4 days ending in January, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Diana V from Oakland, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time. The view is spectacular. We watched the whales migrating from the living room! Everything we needed to relax and enjoy family time was there.

  •  
  • Always a pleasure

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Eureka, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Great location, perfect romantic getaway close to the village.

  •  
  • Amazing Stay

    Stayed 3 days ending in October, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Melanie W from Sunnyvale, CA recommends this vacation rental

    My family (husband, son and dog) stayed at Bluff House over the Columbus Day weekend and it was wonderful! The house is absolutely a delight--far enough from town to be "away from it all", yet close enough to access everything you'd want and need. The house was exceptionally clean, very well-appointed and cozy. The location is crazy-amazing--sitting right on the bluffs of the Pacific. Nothing was more peaceful than sitting there in the morning with coffee watching the waves crash as the fog lifted. And the nighttime views were just as spectacular with a glass of wine. The furnishings and bedding were super comfortable and the kitchen was perfect. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  •  
  • Beautiful Bluff House

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Carole Z from Greenwich, CT recommends this vacation rental

    Beautiful views, very cozy house

  •  
  • Bluff house return

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Greg P from Reno NV, CA recommends this vacation rental

    3rd time at Bluff House. Always enjoy the proximity to town and the amazing 180 degree views of the coast. Always a nice retreat for us.

  •  
  • Views breathtaking!

    Stayed 4 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Janet K from Carmichael, CA recommends this vacation rental

    The property management company were responsive, efficient and professional. My Sister and I stayed in the same room the loft bedroom was stuffy - could benefit from ceiling fan. The daily rate seemed high considering that. Otherwise stay was fantastic!

  •  
  • Magical house

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Claudette A from Winters CA, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This is a magical house, our daughter was married here by the gazebo last year and we stayed here again about the same time this year.

    What makes it so magical is the 180ยบ view from the sofa in the living room, and the view itself! The Mendocino headlands on the left and a classic Mendocino coast view to the right.

    There is really very little sign of other houses in the view as this house is maybe 10 feet from the bluff and everything else is behind you.

    Its on a large lot and the hot tub is private. You can walk into downtown Mendocino in 12 minutes or drive in 2, when you really need to get more wine, champagne and comestibles from Mendozas/Harvest Market, or to go out for dinner, but the kitchen has a nice convection oven and gas stove and a kitchen layout that lets you still have the view while cooking, which I enjoy.

    Its easy to spend the whole day on the sofa here.

    We did for several!

  •  
  • Perfect home in Mendocino

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Amy S from Charlottesville, VA recommends this vacation rental

    We spent 3 nights at Bluff House in Mendocino and loved every minute. The house was right on the cliff, views that are breathtaking, gorgeous home and the sweetest guest cottage behind the house that we also rented, perfect for our group. The location was ideal, we walked into town and when we did venture out, the drive to everything we wanted to see was less than 15 minutes. I would return in a heartbeat but would add on another week to the trip! Everything was perfect.

  •  
  • Peaceful, Private and Perfect

    Stayed 4 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Pamela K from Fair Oaks, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We will most certainly return to Bluff House. It is so close to the village and yet so private. If the house were any closer to the cliffs, it would be in the ocean. Morning coffee on the Gazebo was delightful. The views from the Great Room are spectacular. The house is small but well appointed, immaculate and comfortable. The kitchen well stocked. The cottage was very charming. We appreciated the bottle of wine left for us and our guests appreciated the coffee left in the cottage for them. Our girls enjoyed the short walk to the village. Bluff House is a wonderful place to center a Mendocino stay.

  •  
  • 40th Anniversary vacation

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Brentwood, CA recommends this vacation rental

    The Bluff House was perfect! The views are awesome, the house was very clean and the kitchen was well stocked. There was a PG&E outage for an entire afternoon and the ladies at the management office kept us well informed of the power updates and even called in the evening to make sure our electricity had been restored. The only recommendations would be to provide a BBQ grill and screens on the windows which open. This home is great for sitting on the deck to watch the sunset with a nice glass of wine!!!

  •  
  • The Bluff House Stay--6/27-6/30

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Farrokh D from Thousand Oaks, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. One suggestion I have is for the owner to address the dampness and stale smell in the guest house. Otherwise, this is a beautiful property and I would recommend it to my friends/family.

  •  
  • Bluff House and cottage

    Stayed 2 days ending in June, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Santa Rosa, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Lovely house with amazing views. Very clean and comfortable. My only criticism would be that we couldn't open many of the windows because there were no screens. Made upstairs very stuffy. The cottage was adorable but my daughter and her boyfriend felt there was a strong mildew smell that pervaded the space. We tried to air it out but it remained. Don't mean to be too critical because we had a wonderful stay but those two things stood out. Just for your information.

  •  
  • Bluff House

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Casey J from Bellaire, TX recommends this vacation rental

    wonderful! The only thing that was a little bit of a problem was Wifi connection. We had two people that needed to work and Wifi in house was spotty and slow

  •  
  • Happy Rest

    Stayed 7 days ending in February, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Susan M from Berkeley, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a good time, even though it is a small place. The beds are comfortable, but the upstairs bedroom people have to go downstairs and through the kitchen to use the bathroom. That is a bit inconvenient. But the view is wonderful. There is some traffic noise since the house is so close to the road, but not too bad. It is beautiful here, and we found it restful. It seemed very clean except that the floor needed mopping. The couches were clean, but a bit saggy. Loved sitting outside in the adirondack chairs.

  •  
  • Whales and beautiful weather

    Stayed 4 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Nevada City, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Before going into the positive aspects we noted to rental company of the kitchen needing some cleaning attention, no screens on the windows and no BBQ pit being somewhat annoying.
    Otherwise the property is in a fabulous location and all the windows that overlook the Pacific provided us the chance to spot so many whales we lost count. The bedrooms were comfortable although the 2nd bedroom upstairs loft area is a trot to the downstairs second bathroom. The sun coming up and going down were a beautiful site from the comfort of the living room. Was a to little nippy in the evenings to sit outside but there was plenty of setting areas to enjoy the views from the front yard. Enjoying our coffee on the last morning we were there we saw a whale "breach" twice. Breath taking. House is very close to downtown Mendocino which is a wonderful town to wander in. Our favorite restaurant was Flow which we seemed to land at almost daily. We would recommend this property for its beauty and feeling of safety.

  •  
  • Perfect

    Stayed 3 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Christa G from Redding, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We had the most relaxing time at the Bluff House. The accommodations offer everything you could ask for; he most beautiful ocean view, and well equipped kitchen. We didn't leave except to dine one night at Ledford House and go grocery shopping. PERFECT Weekend.

  •  
  • Amazing!

    Stayed 4 days ending in November, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Karen M from SF, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We loved spending our Thanksgiving vacation in the fabulous Bluff House. Waking up to the view was simply amazing - a million dollar view. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  •  
  • Great property!

    Stayed 3 days ending in November, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Chico, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We loved the Bluff House and will be back for sure. The property is wonderful and neighbors are a ways away so the privacy was wonderful. You will not be disappointed waking up to the view.

  •  
  • Bluff House Week

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Greg P from Reno NV, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We look forward to this week all year. Very quiet with amazing ocean views. The house is comfortable and an easy walk to Mendocino. We will rent again next year. Only concern this year was the abundance of flying insects coming through the open windows.there are no screens on the windows.

  •  
  • Bluff House

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stanley M from Napa, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Great place, always enjoy our stay. However, would be better: 1. for those who stay a week, it would be nice if you had a supply of toilet paper, paper towels, and hand soap; 2. Some screens on the windows so you can enjoy the ocean breezes 3. replace those baking sheets; 4. A CD player that works.

  •  
  • Amazing views

    Stayed 6 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Marcel D from Chico, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This house has wonderful, one-hundred eighty degree views of the coastline. It is close to downtown Mendocino. It has a good-sized yard and is pet-friendly. There are a few negatives. The layout is inconvenient, particularly the lack of an upstairs bathroom and a TV that cannot be comfortably viewer from the seating set-up. The kitchen is not well-equipped, so if you like to cook, bring your favorite fry pan and some decent knives.

  •  
  • Four days on the coast

    Stayed 3 days ending in July, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Danville, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful long weekend at Bluff House. Could have stayed on the property the whole time and just watched the waves, tides and birds. Walking distance to Mendocino for coffee and shopping and the headlands for hiking. definitely will return - what a find!

  •  
  • Like staying on a ship

    Stayed 7 days ending in June, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lynn C from Lufkin, TX recommends this vacation rental

    I wouldn't have thought it possible to have such water views from a house - breathtaking! The furnishings and bedding was new and clean. The location was perfect. We have stayed at several places in Mendocino and our friends have been visiting there for 30 years. We all agree it's the best rental ever!

  •  
  • Ideal Coastal Experience...

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Sonoma, CA recommends this vacation rental

    I have rented close to a dozen different properties up and down the North Coast over the past 15+ years, and this is one of the most impressive. The combination of proximity to the water and the convenience of being able to walk into town...supplemented by a dog-friendly yet well-appointed/maintained/decorated property make this a unique value proposition for people like me, who are looking for the serenity of a breathtaking view without the inefficiencies of an overly rustic situation.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
39.317445,-123.800443

Special Offers

Mendocino Preferred Vacation Rentals 10483 Lansing StreetPO Box 762 Mendocino, CA 95460 800-942-6300 mendocinopreferred@seacottage.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon